Starts, runs 30 sec, idles very rough and dies

Post here for mechanical and engine topics such as fuel issues, transmission problems, rough idle, exhaust, electrical issues, etc

Moderators: GRNSHRK, ron, bfons

ReluctantRed

Starts, runs 30 sec, idles very rough and dies

Post by ReluctantRed »

New injectors have my 1987 635CSI running ok over 1000rpm. However idle is rough and gets progressive rougher as it runs for 30 to 50 seconds. After 50 seconds of running it won't idle, just dies. This is the "pasture" find I've been working on for several months, this car sat for 4-6 years, had bad gas, we have flushed a few times.

The idle air control motor appears to be new. Is it suppose to clank when you shake it like the later ones? On these cars, is the idle air control motor a stepper motor, or a DC motor? Its there a way to test it electrically? It only has 3 wires... +12, retract, extend. Can I just ground the extend wire to make it move?

We replaced the idle air motor's hose and the flex snorkel so there are no major air leaks.

The air flow door has me very confused. The whole resistor, pin 6 to pin 9 measures 562 ohms. The wiper (pin 7) measures 45 ohms to pin 6 when the door is closed. As you open it, the resistance goes up quickly to 850 ohms then drops to ~300 ohms and then increases to 560 ohms when its fully open. Is it suppose to work like this? I can't see how the wiper can have more resistance than the whole resistor unless there is a pile of dirt at one spot.

I don't think it has anything to do with O2, it never gets warm enough. Its only 4C outside here.

Cheers,
86_6series
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Re: Starts, runs 30 sec, idles very rough and dies

Post by 86_6series »

This should be some help in diagnosing your problem.

http://www.hiperformancestore.com/motronic.htm
86-635CSi
96-MB C220 SOLD
98-740i
71-Continental MK3
ReluctantRed

Post by ReluctantRed »

Has anyone removed the 7th injector? It look impossible to get at.