Car cut out while driving - wont restart! Help!

Post here for mechanical and engine topics such as fuel issues, transmission problems, rough idle, exhaust, electrical issues, etc

Moderators: GRNSHRK, ron, bfons

weejangus

Car cut out while driving - wont restart! Help!

Post by weejangus »

Hi all,

This morning was a day I'd been looking forward to for the past 25+ years... the day I finally took ownership of a BMW E24 635 CSi!

Have loved this car since I was a kid and I now have one!

It started and drove fine for the first 10 / 15 minutes but all of a sudden it lost power and cut out. It rolled to a stop and now doesn't even try to start.

I turn the key, all the instrument lights come on, turn further and... nothing.

It doesn't crank or anything.

I've checked the battery, hooked up a Jump Starter pack and it's still the same. I'd have guessed that the starter motor isn't working but that doesn't explain why it cut out in the first place.

As I'm new to this car, I was wondering if there is anything obvious I can check. Hoping it's something simple!

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Jay
tschultz

Re: Car cut out while driving - wont restart! Help!

Post by tschultz »

What year and is it an automatic?
http://www.Drive4Corners.com
'79 635CSi Revival
'80 635CSi
'83 633CSi Callaway Turbo continued as 1988 535is Turbo
SOLD: '81 635CSi/A
weejangus

Post by weejangus »

It's a 1987 automatic.

Don't know if it's related or relevant but I've noticed that the fuel pump appears to be buzzing away when I put the ignition on.

I don't think it was making that noise when the car was delivered this morning but it's quite noticeable now.

Having done some research, it looks like the fuel pump isn't supposed to function until you actually try to start the car. I confirmed that the noise is definitely the fuel pump by removing Fuse 11 under the bonnet - the noise stopped.

Any ideas?
Pod
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post by Pod »