M6 idle slightly "lopey"--- normal or worth addressing?

Post here for mechanical and engine topics such as fuel issues, transmission problems, rough idle, exhaust, electrical issues, etc

Moderators: GRNSHRK, ron, bfons

GAflyer

M6 idle slightly "lopey"--- normal or worth addressing?

Post by GAflyer »

My 1988 M6 has about 135,000 miles. I've put all of 4,000 or so on it in the decade or so I've owned it. (Yes, I know...I should drive it more). Like all of you, I enjoy improving my car where I can. I also subscribe to the philosophy of "if it ain't broke...."

As long as I can remember, it has idled about 600 RPM with a slightly lopey or burbly idle. It starts readily and doesn't stall out. It pulls smoothly through the rev range (as far as I push it anyway-- I'm an old pilot who by habit doesn't push old machinery to anywhere near limits). MAF is stock, chip is Dinan (according to PO). I've never driven anyone else's M6 to compare idle or acceleration. I did run a couple cans of Lubri-Moly fuel system cleaner through it several years back, with no noticeable change.

No indication the injectors have ever been serviced. I've read relevant posts here, and wonder if it would be worth the effort to pull the fuel rail and send the injectors off for reconditioning and flow matching. Balanced against the risk of breaking something, or dropping a small part down into a combustion chamber. #-o I've also read about the Mantis Manometer and matching of the ITBs, but hesitate at the cost of a tool I'd likely use once, if ever (although the gent's surely entitled to profit from his labors).

Am I likely to see any benefit? I prefer to be proactive and improve my cars where I can, but don't want to waste time/money or, much worse, create a problem where none exists. Or should I just focus my effort on fixing the mediocre air conditioning and inop cruise control?

Any thoughts on this from you experts out there? :-k

Many thanks. Everybody stay well!!
Rob Welch