New member to the forum.

Document your Sixer project here.

Moderators: GRNSHRK, ron, bfons

rhanley 635csi89
Bigcoupe Contributor
Bigcoupe Contributor

New member to the forum.

Post by rhanley 635csi89 »

Hi, I'm new to this forum. I picked up this classic in October 2014. It is a 1989 L6 635CSi Alpine White/Natur 218/0 code, production date 11/88, vin WBAEC8413K3268571. Automatic, Sun Roof. I'm the 4th owner. The car has been sitting for the last 2 years. PO claims he clocked about 1K miles, as he became ill and could no longer drive. Mileage approx 130K based on analyzing the records from Auto Check, car had stayed in the Atlanta Ga area since new. There is no rust on or under the car. One small crack in dash board. I'm 68 years young and wrapping up a 1 1/2 year non auto related project.

I have always enjoyed the lines of the classic 633 & 635 coupe and I now have a winter project. I've owned a 87 735i and a 96 328ic, I'm a tinker not a mechanic. I lack an auto vocabulary. I'm going to need support and help. My intent is to have a reliable cruiser to drive in the mountains of NC and an occasional trip to the BMW outings held in Greer SC., 1 hr ride away.

When I picked up the car I brought a battery pack, car would not turn over, power was at the starter, went to my 1960's know how of cars and hit the starter with a hammer and car turned over and started right up. Car has started fine for the last two months, however, I'll always be suspect of the starter. What did the hammer punch do to make it turn over? Solenoid stuck? What would the experts do?

I've enjoyed reading various posts in this forum and the knowledge contained is invaluable. Banjo Bolts? Not having a maintenance history on the car (3rd owner replaced radiator and transmission line) I knew where I had to start, car was running rough. Oil was filthy.