1987 635csi 5-speed / long time lurker introduction

Document your Sixer project here.

Moderators: GRNSHRK, ron, bfons

castironphil

1987 635csi 5-speed / long time lurker introduction

Post by castironphil »

Hello!
I'm new to this forum, so I'll explain how I ended up here...

I've been a split window VW transporter enthusiast for about 20 years. I've owned a few, I love driving them - but lately the hobby has skyrocketed in popularity. It has driven the prices for parts and everything out of my range. I expect some people to tell me how expensive it is to own an e24, but believe me - until you start seeing seats for $4,000...count your blessings!
Spend some time http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewto ... highlight= here to see what I mean. Rust is also something I'm sick of dealing with.

Not to ramble, but I sold my 1965 transporter in favor of an e24. I've been doing my homework for about 6 months, lurking here, etc. and I found what I believed to be a good deal. I'm in Fargo (shopping in Minneapolis/Winnipeg primarily), and I decided to push my search radius out of the rust belt for my best odds.

I found this car in the south suburbs of Denver and pulled the trigger. It has 2 rust spots in the rear wheel wells, mechanically very sound, evidence that it was well taken care of (via the many pictures and emails from a patient PO), and so I'm happy. I bought a 1 way ticket to Denver, armed with a standard tool kit, Bentley manual, and loaded up on insurance with roadside assistance, and I took a leap of faith.