The 1987 L6

Document your Sixer project here.

Moderators: GRNSHRK, ron, bfons

Let's see a show of opinion on the best next step.

Accept the ridiculous cost of the project and piece the car back together.
100%
TRACK CAR. Cut this baby up and fit it with a cage. Mount my M106 turbo parts and have fun!
No votes
Nothing. Leave it in my driveway and wait for the right buyer to give me the best moneys for it.
No votes

Total votes: 10

Lucas_Roehr

The 1987 L6

Post by Lucas_Roehr »

Oh.
The time is really coming to make a decision with my L6 shark. I have been sitting on the car for nearly 5 years at this point. When I got it, there were about $1000 in back fees with the DMV, so I let it sit until I got that resolved. I spoke to the right person who works with vehicle titles last year and got the fees reduced to a reasonable amount, at which time I SMOGged it and registered it. It is now CA street legal. I manual swapped it with the discarded G260/6 parts from my 86 535i (which received the G265), and threw the dogomatic 4HP22eh in the dumpster where it belongs. I installed a full set of e34 540i brakes and installed Bilstien sports with the (dreaded) LaDue DINAN copy springs that I had laying around. I have gathered the electronics from several different BMWs to make the M1.3 engine management run on the car (with an 88/89 E24 harness). I have several sets of wheels laying around, but it currently has e39 style 32s. I should have tracked down a dashboard for it when I first obtained the car, because they are VERY difficult and expensive just to find crap now.