wind noise ... how to hush it down a bit??

Post in this forum for topics relating to the interior.

Moderators: GRNSHRK, ron, bfons

ronnieg

wind noise ... how to hush it down a bit??

Post by ronnieg »

I'm new to the 635, and it sounds a bit windy. Window seals look OK and tight, so it must be something else.

My wife says that why it has a radio....just turn it up and the wind noise will go away...HA!

Anybody with experience or fixes?
Happier in a 635
orlando

Post by orlando »

Welcome to the forum!!

The wind noise is a common problem in the sixers due to the frame less nature of the windows. On inspecting your windows, it is likely you will find that there is a gap between the glass and the rubber seal.

It is PITA job to adjust the door to get the glass to nicely sit on the seal. The procedure to adjust the door to eliminate wind noise is well documented here: http://normgrills.net/bcg/Body_Interior ... or24982937

Good luck and hopefully you get your problem sorted out. Once you do you will be even happier in the sixer (going by your signature!!) and enjoy the car more, then listen to the radio as it was intended to!!

Orlando.
aussie_bronzit
1985 M635CSI Right Hand Drive
M88 engine not S38
Da_Hose
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post by Da_Hose »

One little thing to be sure of is that you have the bump stops on the door lock tumbler - thing.

Open your door and look at the rotating piece that actually locks the door. The top arm should have a plastic cap. It's part #17 on the parts page below.

http://realoem.com/bmw/showparts.do?mod ... g=41&fg=40

Jose
1987 M6 - My dream car
Beaker

Post by Beaker »

Yeah, mine howls a bit too. I did have an issue with the driver's door glass not closing properly, dropping it a few mm and closing again sorts it (until I align it properly), but apart from that it can be a bit noisy.
Oct. '81 635
Chris Wright

Post by Chris Wright »