what paint to use??

Post in this forum for topics relating to the interior.

Moderators: GRNSHRK, ron, bfons

crapshooter6

what paint to use??

Post by crapshooter6 »

Hey guys, I'm refinishing a set of rusty M3 manual frame rails to go into a '79 633 (as soon as I can find the right adapters) and I started painting with rustoleum,,,,well this crap wants to stay tacky even after a week so I've decided to go back to square one and ask someone who's done this....what's the right paint for these frame rails? Thanks!

Bob G
Crapshooter
jacko

Re: what paint to use??

Post by jacko »

=; Rust = POR 15
Jack
Arlington, Texas. USA

1989 635csi
Automatic
hornhospital
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post by hornhospital »

If the Rustoleum is still tacky after a week, there was something wrong with the paint to begin with, or you have really terrible drying conditions.
Ken Kanne
'84 633CSi "Sylvia"; '85 635CSi "Katja";'85 325e "Hazel Ann"; '95 M3 "Ashlyn"
Da_Hose
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post by Da_Hose »

I second the POR-15. Although if it will see sunshine, you should clearcoat with something that has UV inhibitors.

Jose
1987 M6 - My dream car
crapshooter6

Post by crapshooter6 »

I'm a big fan of por-15 too, I've used it in the past, I just thought this might be a little quicker....I used Rust-oleum Rust Dissolver and it did take care of the rust on the frame rail, but I think I've used the wrong paint....I sprayed the rail with rust-oleum undercoating and then went back with rust-oleum flat black enamel paint. I'm thinkin the undercoating might not have been necessary....also, I'm trying to lube the frame rail so it slides back and forth like it should, but it's not freeing up like it should and this paint I've used doesn't look anything like the original factory paint would. I think I just need to start all over....any ideas?

Bob G
Crapshooter
alabbasi

Post by alabbasi »